Three poems

TCM71_CoverThree poems by Frank McMahon are published this month. “Flint’ and ‘Passajes’ appear in the June edition of ‘The Cannon’s Mouth’, the quarterly journal of the Birmingham-based Cannon Poets.

The third poem ‘It is the Sound’ has been published by ‘I am not a silent poet’, the
online magazine for poetry and artwork protesting against abuse in any of its forms. It begins:

of a child abandoned on a hillside
of a man’s tears falling across a rock
of a seabird caught in a trough of oil
of a whale lost amongst the throb of engines
of a mother pleading for the life of her child.

Frank said: “Sometimes the news about the suffering and injustice in the world
becomes overwhelming and the voices of pain and despair break through,
compelling me to respond with poetry.”
The full poem can be read here:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.